top of page
Writer's pictureAnthony- Cartolano

Week of 5/6/24

Glass and hinges

This week I started to finish up my jersey frame project. After installing the LEDs last week, the next step was to add the plexiglass. I went to Home Depot to get it (1/8th inch), and the next step was to laser cut the proper shape to fit into the groove I made. I projected the shape of that groove in Fusion and exported it to Inkscape to laser cut it, and after that me and Milo carried it carefully into the shop. The piece fit exactly into the groove and we were able to screw it in perfectly. The next step was to connect the cover and the back together with hinges. We lined everything up and drilled then screwed them in. I was worried the pieces wouldn't line up, but they did with no problems.





The latches

The last couple problems I had was how to keep the frame shut and how to keep the jersey in place. I made another run to Home Depot to see what I could find, and they had some latches that were just too big for the 3/4 inch frame I had. After going to a couple different hardware stores, I found a hook contraption that fit. I lined it up before I drilled to make sure it was good, and once I checked that we were good to go. I added two locks for extra stability and it holds shut perfectly. I tried researching on how to hold jerseys in place, but none of the solutions I saw were right for what I was doing. Instead, I just went with doubled sided tape and that's fine until the jersey falls. Before I bring it home I wanna look it over and make sure everything's fine, and after that this project is done.

8 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All

Comentarios


bottom of page