top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony- Cartolano

Week of 3/6/23

Updated: Mar 10, 2023



This week I made a lot of progress on my basketball project. Towards the end of last week I figured out exactly how big I needed the PVC for the pole, so I went to Home Depot to get it. I needed a 9 foot tall pipe for the main support, then a 90 degree elbow piece and 2 foot long piece to connect to the backboard. The closest thing to 9 feet that they had was 10 feet, so I got that and used the horizonal bandsaw to cut it down. I also started making the dispenser for the candy in CAD. I started off by making a box and going from there. I found a model of a servo motor on Google and used it in my design. I didn't finish it since I was having trouble getting lines to constrain and I was going back and forth with the PVC. I made a privative cardboard version of my backboard with the same dimensions so I could see where the backboard was going to screw in, but me and Zack learned that just taping it on wasn't going to work. Because of this, I had to design a plug that would fit into the PVC that would allow it to bolt in to the backboard. I made a smaller test version of it to make sure that the M8 screws would fit, but my files wouldn't transfer over to the 3D printer computer so I wasn't able to print it today. I should get the plug don't by the end of the week, then I can start to test where I want the backboard to screw in. I also got 60 cans for the can drive from Wegman's.











44 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page