top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony- Cartolano

Week of 3/25/24


New frame complete

This week I started the process of rerouting my jersey frame. After finishing up the new model I made last week,. I exported all the files and was ready to go to VCarve. I started off by deleting the grooves in between all four sides since I designed each side individually instead of once big piece in case I ever needed to redo one side. After that, I had to edit the nodes of the hinges on both the cover and the back, and after that I was ready to make the profiles of what I had to cut. It was good at first, but I was having an issue with where it was cutting the whole inside of the frame instead of just cutting it out around the border. Mr. L was able to help with that, and after some double checks everything was good to go. We took out the old wood and replaced it with the new piece, and you could see it curving.



VCarve

Milo helped me to remove the bit in order to change it, but we realized that we took out the bit that we were going to use so we put it back. We then had to wait a little to zero the Z since the compressor for the whole shop was leaking a little which causes the vacuum suction to not work, but after giving it a few minutes it worked. We zeroed everything and started cutting, but I noticed it wasn't starting right where we zeroed it, so pressed the emergency stop because I thought something was wrong. I then realized that it was starting from the other side and working it's way over, and since I emergency stopped it I had to re-zero everything. Once that was all set, it routed perfectly and in much less time than it did before.




Curved old wood

21 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page