top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony- Cartolano

Week of 10/9/23

This week was short because we had Monday off and we had a day off to tour colleges, so I didn't get much done but I learned a lot. I cut the hinge test piece out with the router, which Milo walked me through. I used a 3/4 inch piece of wood, but it was a smaller piece so I had to make sure that it was taped down securely. After that, I imported my CAD file into VCarve on the big TV in the machine shop. Milo showed me the difference between pocket cuts and profile cuts, and I needed both for what I was doing, My test piece is a sliver of the bigger frame, just the part where the hinge is. I also learned how to make tabs to stop the cut from flying out. There was some trouble exporting the design from the computer to the router with the flash drive, but it was because I was saving the file as something that could only be used on the plasma cutter, not the router. Once the file was all set, I removed the drill bit with a couple wrench and replaced it with the one I needed. I already knew how to zero X, Y, and Z, so I did that then I was ready to route. The hinge idents 0.07 inches down and is 3 by 1.35 inches exactly. Once the cut was done and I inserted the hinge, it took a little bit of wiggling to get it to stay in. If I add another millimeter it should fit, and there's no need to route another one. I also had the issue of the corners not being completely square because the router can't cut like that, so I used a razor blade to make it how I wanted. While I could just do that in the final version, it looked messy so I'd rather just modify the design and add sniglets. My new sensors came in, so I've also been playing around with those. Overall, I made some good progress this week.


Hinge Test Piece

TSOP3828 Sensors

9 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page