top of page
  • Writer's pictureAnthony- Cartolano

Week of 10/26/23

This week was a little shorter because I was out Tuesday, but I worked mostly on my code for the IR remote and I made some good progress. I started by adding the other two settings I had (the one where half the strip is gold and half is purple and the other one where one color goes around). I corresponded both those settings to the 3 and 4 button on the remote. I changed the delay of the around code, making it circle quicker. I also tried to add a button to turn the whole strip completely off, which I set to the top left button. It worked for a little bit, but quickly I noticed that my code wasn't working right. When I trued to turn on the gold and purple setting on the third button, it would turn it on and off rather than just staying solid, however this wasn't a problem with the induvial gold and purple settings (I didn't test the around setting). My code was uploading, but I was getting a message telling me that I had low memory available on the board. Scott suggested that I clean up the code and rid of anything I don't need since I was using an example code found online, which I did. I also got rid of a lot of libraries that I wasn't using, however I was still getting the low memory error message. After doing everything I could, I changed the off button from the top left to the top middle, which worked for some reason. Even if cleaning up my code didn't solve my problem, I'm very glad I did it because it looks much cleaner and I actually understand everything.

I then tried to move my code into my student Google drive, but it went into the wrong folder and I wasn't able to recover it. Luckily, I found a save of my code before I changed the off button and cleaned up the code, so I re did everything I did to get it back to how it was before. The last step was to add one more setting to my remote. I wanted to add one that flashed gold and purple like a neon sign, and with some help from Cormac I got it half working. Instead of lighting up the whole strip at once, it would light up one pixel at a time before flashing. I got the delay fast enough to where it looked like the whole strip was going on at once, but I could still tell and it bothered me. After that and some feedback from my classmates, I decided to ditch that setting and make new one. Cormac enlightened me about a setting on his Christmas tree where it fades from one color to another, which I wanted to implement into my project with purple and gold. I got the purple to fade to nothing, however instead of slowly fading back it would instantly come on. I wasn't able to get it to work and that's something that I'm trying to figure out right now. I also made a GitHub account to better store my code and make sure it doesn't get lost like it almost did before.


Final Code Official
14 views0 comments

Recent Posts

See All
bottom of page